"It happens here."

emergency services


The Hankinson Ambulance District includes the entire townships of Brightwood, Elma, Greendale, Belford, Brandenburg, Waldo, LaMars, Fairmount South; partial townships of Barney, Duerr East, Moran, Fairmount North, Summit West, Liberty Grove, de Villo; and the cities of Hankinson, Mantador, and Great Bend.

If you are interested in joining the ambulance squad, call Jeff Braaten at 242-8245.  He will give you information and help you receive training.


The Hankinson Volunteer Fire Department is comprised of 35 active members. Twenty-six are classified as Certified Firefighter I through the North Dakota Firemen's Association. Members attend regular training on a monthly basis; regional and local fire schools, and specialized training in areas such as auto extrication and CPR. Mutual aid agreements are in place with Lidgerwood, Mantador, Great Bend, Wahpeton, and Fairmount. Wahpeton has a HAZMAT team whose services are available via the mutual aid agreement.  

For more information contact Jason Vedder at (701) 403-0237.


The City of Hankinson contracts with the Richland County Sheriff's Department for police protection. One deputy is assigned to the City of Hankinson.  The Sheriff's Department provides 24-hour service to residents and operates a countywide enhanced 911 emergency system.